An official website of the United States government Here's how you know

Home > About the FEC > Leadership and structure > All Commissioners

All Commissioners



Allen Dickerson
Chair
Republican



Dara Lindenbaum
Vice Chair
Democrat



Shana M. Broussard
Democrat



Sean J. Cooksey
Republican



James E. "Trey" Trainor III
Republican



Ellen L. Weintraub

Democrat



Steven T. Walther
Independent
January 2006 to July 2022



Caroline C. Hunter
Republican

July 2008 to July 2020



Matthew S. Petersen
Republican

June 2008 to August 2019



Lee E. Goodman
Republican
October 2013 to February 2018



Ann M. Ravel
Democrat

October 2013 to March 2017



Donald F. McGahn
Republican

July 2008 to September 2013



Cynthia L. Bauerly
Democrat

June 2008 to February 2013



David M. Mason
Republican

July 1998 to July 2008
(Reappointed January 2006)



Robert D. Lenhard

Democrat

January 2006 to December 2007



Hans A. von Spakovsky
Republican

January 2006 to December 2007



Michael E. Toner
Republican

March 2002 to March 2007



Danny L. McDonald

Democrat

December 1981 to December 2006

(Reappointed July 1987, July 1994 and July 2000)



Scott E. Thomas

Democrat

October 1986 to January 2006

(Reappointed November 1991 and July 1998)



Bradley A. Smith
Republican

June 2000 to April 2005



Karl J. Sandstrom

Democrat

July 1998 to December 2002



Darryl R. Wold
Republican

July 1998 to April 2002



Lee A. Elliott
Republican
December 1981 to June 2000
(Reappointed July 1987 and July 1994)



Joan D. Aikens
Republican

April 1975 to September 1998
(Reappointed May 1976, December 1981, August 1983 and October 1989)



John W. McGarry

Democrat

October 1978 to August 1998

(Reappointed July 1983 and October 1989)



Trevor Potter
Republican
November 1991 to October 1995



Thomas J. Josefiak Republican August 1981 to December 1991



Thomas E. Harris

Democrat

April 1975 to October 1986

(Reappointed May 1976 and June 1979)



Frank P. Reiche
Republican

July 1979 to August 1985



Robert O. Tiernan

Democrat

April 1975 to December 1981
(Reappointed May 1976)



Max L. Friedersdorf Republican March 1979 to December 1980



Vernon W. Thomson
Republican
April 1975 to June 1979
(Reappointed May 1976) January 1981 - December 1981)



William L. Springer Republican May 1976 to February 1979



Neil O. Staebler

Democrat

April 1975 to October 1978

(Reappointed May 1976)



Thomas B. Curtis
Republican

April 1975 to May 1976

Ex officio Commissioners

From 1975 through 1993, the Secretary of the Senate and the Clerk of the House were designated as nonvoting, ex officio Commissioners. In 1993, an appeals court ruled that the presence of nonvoting Congressionally appointed ex officio members on the Commission violated the Constitution's separation of powers. The Supreme Court dismissed the Commission's appeal for lack of jurisdiction (*FEC v. NRA Political Victory Fund*). Subsequent to the appeals court decision, the Commission reconstituted itself as a six-member body.

Clerk of the House

Donnald K. Anderson January 1987 to October 1993

Benjamin U. Guthrie
January 1983 to January 1987

Edmund L. Henshaw, Jr. December 1975 to January 1983

W. Pat Jennings

April 1975 to November 1975

Secretary of the Senate

Walter J. Stewart

January 1987 to October 1993

Jo-Anne L. Coe

January 1985 to January 1987

William F. Hildenbrand

January 1981 to January 1985

Joseph Stanley Kimmitt

April 1977 to January 1981

Francis R. Valeo

April 1975 to March 1977